Three members of the Edo State House of Assembly have been suspended a fresh plot to impeach the speaker and other principal officers.

Speaker Blessing Agbebaku announced the suspension of the lawmakers during plenary on Monday, May 6, 2024.

One of the legislators on suspension, Donald Okogbe of the PDP representing Akoko-Edo II, is known to be a supporter of the ousted deputy governor, Philip Shaibu.

Notably, Okogbe refrained from endorsing the petition that ultimately resulted in Shaibu’s removal from office.

The remaining two individuals mentioned are Addeh Emankhu Isibor of the APC representing Esan North-East I, and Iyamu Bright of the PDP representing Orhionnwon II.

Additionally, Speaker Agbebaku alleged that “the three legislators summoned native doctors to the premises at 1am on May 1, to conduct a ritual”.

The speaker said the lawmakers are being used by some external forces to cause chaos in a bid to remove the leadership of the house.

After the speaker announced the suspension, there was a rowdy session in the assembly as the suspended lawmakers questioned the unilateral decision of the speaker.

“Mr Speaker, you don’t have the right to unilaterally suspend any member of the house. You must call for votes. Allow members to vote on the matter,” the affected lawmakers said in protest.

Afterwards, the speaker adjourned plenary abruptly.